cannot get past step 1

Hi,
I am new on this forum. I did already some searching for topics related to the installation issue I encounter but so far without success.

I want to evaluate Dolibarr ERP system on Ubuntu 18.04.3 LTS and since it is not a standard SW on Ubuntu Software I followed the download instructions under below link:

The only deviation I chose is to keep the test database alive as I think that having a test database is quite a useful feature for future use.

Dolibarr icon is showing in the Applications menu and when I start it, Firefox opens with a screen to guide me through the rest of the setup process. First screen is the language selection and next is the basic database settings (step 1).
I am not an expert on Linux/Ubuntu or ERP (though I have some experience using SAP) but I suppose I get the basic concept of what the setup is trying to achieve.
In short I want a database with 1 user and a root (superuser rights) that can add more users and authorisations along the way.

Once I have all the details filled in I go to the next step but get a variation of errors:

1. If I leave the default port 3360 then I get some error about root access on the dolibarr database.
  2. If I empty the field for the default port I see that access to the database is ok but get an error that the user cannot be created.

So after some digging on internet I found that it may be related to a setting in /var/www/html/dolibarr/htdocs/install/install.forced.sample.php file.
I edited the file in the following place:

/** @var int 1 = Lock and hide environment variables, 2 = Lock all set variable$
$force_install_noedit = 2;

I changed it to:

/** @var int 1 = Lock and hide environment variables, 2 = Lock all set variable$
$force_install_noedit = 1;

the suggestion was that you would be able to access some more settings that were locked when set to 2.

After making this change I am even further away since the webpage now gives an error:

DolibarrHasDetectedError.