Download Module into Customs folders

Hey!
I am a Dolibarr rookie and I need some advice… See below the README file on how to add a module into Dolibarr (can’t do it with the frontend… the folder is too big).

Few questions (I have my wife’s old Mac):

• which other place README is talking about? A specific place? Do I create a new one in the Dolibarr folder?
  • How to add a symbolic link? Where do I copy and paste the line of code (with my own folder’s name off course)?

Thanks for your help,
FYI, I am not a coder… so be nice with me :slight_smile:

DOLIBARR ERP & CRM custom directory for external modules

This directory is dedicated to store external modules.
To use it, just copy here the directory of the module into this directory.

Note: On linux or MAC systems, it is better to unzip/store the external module directory into a different place than this directory and just adding a symbolic link here to the htdocs directory of the module.

For example on Linux OS: Get the module from the command

mkdir ~/git; cd ~/git

git clone https://git.framasoft.org/p/newmodule/newmodule.git

Then create the symbolic link

ln -fs ~/git/newmodule/htdocs /path_to_dolibarr/htdocs/custom/newmodule

WARNING !!!
Check also that the /custom directory is active by adding into dolibarr conf/conf.php file the following
two lines, so dolibarr will also scan /custom directory to find external external modules:

$dolibarr_main_url_root_alt='/custom';
$dolibarr_main_document_root_alt='/path_to_dolibarr/htdocs/custom/';

Hi kierskia,

that’s the place where you need to upload your module folder. if your Dolibarr is called dolibarr then the path will be /dolibarr/htdocs/custom/ if it’s called crm then the path will be /crm/htdocs/custom/

Thanks Futurehousetore! Apparently it works… I have now 84 modules (before i add 75). So it clearly added modules to Dolibarr…

But I can’t find any module called Dolimed or patients, etc…