Help Installing Dolibarr in Ubuntu

Hello,

I am new to Linux and Dolibarr. I am attempting to install and get running a copy of Dolibarr on a server that I had previously used for another dead project. I have looked into the partners page and there is no one in Canada that is listed, so I find myself here.

Please forgive what are probably dumb questions as I learn.

First, my system is running on Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS.

I first downloaded and installed the newest version
13.0.1(for Ubuntu) and attempted to run it normally.

It stops me at the third page because I don’t have root access, but I actually do and I have checked and rechecked and even reset my password and still it does not accept it.

I then attempted a manual install

I have installed all of the dependencies as per the instructions outlined on this website:

This is the most up to date guide I can find.

I have installed Apache2, MariaDB and configured PHP exactly as proscribed, however I have hit a wall.

When I attempt to enter Dolibarr and use the setup wizard I can’t connect to it. I am sure I am missing something small that would come naturally to an experienced user, but I haven’t been able to figure it out.

In the Dolibarr.conf file(see attached) I have used test . com and example . com as the website, however when I browse this site it actually connects to the internet and not Dolibarr.

I tried changing the hostfile to point me in the right direction and it works “almost” with example . com and brings me to the apache2 mainpage, test . com still goes to the net.

If someone could tell me what I am missing, or put me in touch with someone who can help, that would be great. Below I have attached a link to some images to show what I have done so far.

Thank you,

Stuart Urquhart

i think it was same problem i have with SQL server it is because there are no password on root user
try this sudo mysql -u root -p
and give your password
CREATE DATABASE dolibarr ;