Managing Product templates within Dolibarr

Hi everyone!

I’m very new to Dolibarr and I’m struggling to figure out how to use External Modules within the original architecture. I am hosting the Dolibarr server on a main computer and have access to it from 3 total computers, they are all running Windows 10 with Dolibarr 8.0.3. What I’m trying to do is modify the initial product template so that I can add custom fields to it, for example I want to be able to add extra information to each product e.g. colour or texture type etc. I was considering either using the CustomFields or ExtraFields module but I can’t seem to find anything which differentiates them from each other.

The main issue I’m running into is how to actually utilise these external modules, when I go onto the websites where I can find them such as DoliStore, all I tend to find are screenshots of them being used in other coding environments where they can actually use SQL to modify the table structure which I can’t seem to find anywhere. I’m assuming this means that I have to use something like PHPmyAdmin to access it? If that’s the case can anybody point me in the right direction as to where I should start?

Thanks for any help in advance and sorry I’m completely new so if I’m missing anything that you guys need to know to help please tell me and I will reply ASAP

Hello

For customfields or extrafields, they are built-in to Dolibarr. Use them to modify your template. Go to Home ► Setup ► Modules ► Products ► Complimentary attributes

Also, there is a new module in your version for product variants. That MIGHT solve your colour, size issue etc.

For the external modules, you buy them, download them, usually into the /custom/ folder and then enable them in the modules page of dolibarr.

1 Like

Hi,

Firstly Extrafields is a core system not an external module.
To add one extrafeild to product, you need to go to the configuration of the product module and declare an extrafield