New script to load main.inc.php on third-party modules, avoiding [Include of main fails]

Hello, I’m a module developer for Dolibarr with about 6 years of experience, and I have 3 modules on Dolistore (Purchases, Stocktransfers, TOTp 2FA) and two themes.

The issue I’d like to discuss is that in recent weeks, I’ve been contacted by a couple of customers (people who purchased my modules) who were having trouble getting them to work and were seeing the “Include of main fails” message in the browser on a blank screen. If you’re a module developer, you probably know what this means: the module script couldn’t locate the main.inc.php file from the Dolibarr core.

With one of these customers facing this problem, the root cause was that their Dolibarr installation had been done using an automated script by their hosting provider (Bitnami on AWS), and as a result, the Dolibarr core was installed in an ABSOLUTE path DIFFERENT from that of the /custom subdirectory. Therefore, the recommended “reverse search” system doesn’t work:

// Try main.inc.php using relative path
   if (!$res && file_exists("../main.inc.php")) $res = @include "../main.inc.php";
   if (!$res && file_exists("../../main.inc.php")) $res = @include "../../main.inc.php";
   if (!$res && file_exists("../../../main.inc.php")) $res = @include "../../../main.inc.php";
   if (!$res) die("Include of main fails");

So, for that customer, I simply added an @include($absolute_path) with the absolute path of their installation:

/opt/bitnami/dolibarr/htdocs/main.inc.php

I realized that this path wasn’t dependent on their username or domain name, so it might be useful for other Dolibarr users using Bitnami.

That’s when I thought the IDEAL solution would be to develop a SINGLE PHP script to be included at the root of all my modules. This script would search for the main.inc.php file in the usual locations but also in locations like the one used by Bitnami.